About Educational Enhancement

Find out how to contact the staff who make up the Educational Enhancement team.

About the team

The Educational Enhancement team disseminates and embeds best practice in all aspects of teaching, learning and assessment. It also communicates and celebrates the success of this work.

Educational Enhancement comprises three teams:

These teams work collaboratively to deliver web-based guidance, workshops and seminars, and to foster a range of University-wide networks and initiatives which support pedagogical practice, professional recognition and scholarship of teaching and learning.

It also provides one-to-one guidance and bespoke workshops or training.

Contacting us

To contact the Learning Technology Team or Academic Developers, email tel@sussex.ac.uk.

See below for information about each member of Educational Enhancement and the responsibilities of each team.

Dr Katie Piatt

Head of Educational Enhancement

Email: K.Piatt@sussex.ac.uk

View Katie Piatt’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Katie Piatt

Katie Turner

Educational Enhancement coordinator

Email: Katie.Turner@sussex.ac.uk

View Katie Turner’s University of Sussex staff profile

profile image of Katie Turner

Academic Developers

The Academic development team provide guidance and support for information on the following:

  • pedagogic advice and support for curriculum design and innovation in teaching, learning and assessment working in partnership with each school cluster
  • support for the development of Scholarship of Teaching and Learning across the university
  • leadership on institution-wide projects for educational enhancement and bespoke projects.

Kitty Horne

Academic Developer (University of Sussex Business School)

Email: K.R.Horne@sussex.ac.uk

View Kitty Horne’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Kitty Horne

Sarah Watson

Academic Developer (School of Media, Art and Humanities)

Email: Sarah.Watson@sussex.ac.uk

Sarah Watson’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Sarah watson

Dr Sam Hemsley

Academic Developer (School of Psychology; School of Life Sciences; School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences; School of Engineering and Informatics)

Email: S.Hemsley@sussex.ac.uk

View Dr Sam Hemsley’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Sam Hemsley

Charlotte Crouch

Academic Developer (School of Education and Social Work; School of Global Studies; School of Law, Politics and Sociology)

Email: C.H.Crouch@sussex.ac.uk

Charlotte Crouch’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Charlotte Crouch

Simona Connelly

Academic Enhancement Officer

Email: s.connelly@sussex.ac.uk

Simona Connelly’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Simona Connelly

Learning Technology Team

The Learning Technology team provide guidance and support for information on the following:

  • Working in partnership with each school cluster to provide pedagogic advice and support for teaching practice, curriculum design and innovation in teaching, learning and assessment, with a focus on appropriate uses of digital technologies
  • An institutional source of expertise in effective educational practice using digital technologies, including regulatory compliance and stewardship of institutional learning technology services
  • Participation in and leadership of educational enhancement projects at School, cluster or institutional level.

Dan Axson

Learning Technologies Manager

Email: D.Axson@sussex.ac.uk

View Dan Axson’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Dan Axson

George Robinson

Senior Learning Technologist 

Email: George.Robinson@sussex.ac.uk

View George Robinson’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of George Robinson

Dr Anne Hole

Learning Technologist 

Email: a.hole@sussex.ac.uk

View Dr Anne Hole’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Anne Hole

Tyrone Knight

Learning Technologist (University of Sussex Business School)

Email: T.J.Knight@sussex.ac.uk

View Tyrone Knight’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Tyrone Knight

Faye Brockwell

Learning Technologist (School of Psychology; School of Life Sciences; School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences; School of Engineering and Informatics)

Email: F.Brockwell@sussex.ac.uk

View Faye Brockwell’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Faye Brockwell

Helen Morley

Learning Technologist (School of Media, Arts and Humanities)

Email: H.Morley@sussex.ac.uk

View Helen Morley's University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Helen Morley

Rachael Thomas 

Learning Technologist (School of Law, Politics and Sociology; School of Education and Social work; School of Global Studies)

Email: rt379@sussex.ac.uk

View Rachael Thomas's University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Rachael Thomas

Online Distance Learning Team

The Online Distance learning team provides a service for the following:

  • the central unit to plan, develop and deliver the Sussex portfolio of fully online postgraduate courses and modules
  • ensure Sussex online delivery is high quality and provides an excellent experience for more than 1,000 students around the world.

Read about the Sussex Online Masters Portfolio.

Mellow Sadik

Online Distance Learning Manager

ODL operations, strategy and oversight

Email: M.sadik@sussex.ac.uk

Mellow Sadik’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Mellow Sadik

Brena Collyer de Aguiar

Senior Learning Technologist (ODL)

Academic, pedagogic and assessment support

Email: B.collyer@sussex.ac.uk

View Brena Collyer de Aguiar’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Brena Colley de Aguair

Helen Todd

Learning Technologist (ODL)

Canvas, technology, live seminar and assignment support

Email: H.Todd@sussex.ac.uk

View Helen Todd’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Helen Todd

Amy Bristow

Online Distance Learning Project Officer

Projects, finance and reporting

Email: Amy.Bristow@sussex.ac.uk

Amy Bristow’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Amy Bristow

Clara Bradley

Online Distance Learning Officer

Policies, procedures and Student Services support

Email: Clara.Bradley@sussex.ac.uk

View Clara Bradley’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Clara Bradley

Sarah Ison

Online Distance Learning Librarian

Reading lists, e-textbooks, academic skills support

Email: S.Ison@sussex.ac.uk

View Sarah Ison’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Sarah Ison

Carly-Anne Baxter

Online Distance Learning Coordinator

Administrative support

Email: C.Baxter@sussex.ac.uk

View Carly-Anne Baxter’s University of Sussex staff profile

Profile image of Carly-Anne Baxter